Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field
  • Executive Cabinet
  • Shaw University’s strategic initiatives and policies are governed by the University’s Board of Trustees whose members are alumni, business leaders and community advocates.


  • Dr. Paulette Dillard, Interim PresidentDr. Paulette Dillard

    President

    Dr. Paulette Dillard is the 18th president of Shaw University. Prior to her appointment, she served in various capacities such as department chair, dean and vice president for Academic Affairs. Shea earned an MBA from Belmont University and a Ph.D. in cell biology from Clark Atlanta University.

    Dr. Dillard is committed to the University's mission of advancing knowledge, facilitating student learning and achievement,  enhancing the spiritual and ethical values of students, and transforming a diverse community of learners into future global leaders.

    Office of the President President's Appearance Request Form
  • Shaw University's 2020 Strategic Plan updates and coordinates with the previous plan by continuing to enhance the five original priorities and adding optimization priority as a framework for developing future directions for the 2015-2020 Plan:

    • Enhance Institution-wide infrastructure to support the University’s mission and business ambitions
    • Optimize academic and operational processes to increase institution-wide efficiency and effectiveness
    • Improve student retention, time to graduation and career readiness
    • Develop new local, national, and global strategic partnerships that increase faculty effectiveness and engagement; diversity and student success
    • Create diversified revenue streams in order to drive the business process and support the university’s mission
    • Increase marketing presence with refined brand identity and value proposition
  • Executive Leadership

    David Byrd
    David Byrd, CPA
    Vice President for Finance and Administration/CFO
    Email: david.byrd@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8237
    Michael West, Ed.D.
    Michael West, Ed.D. 
    Vice President for University Operations/COO
    Email: michael.west@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8542 
    Keith Powell, Ph.D.
    Keith Powell, Ph.D
    Vice President for Student Affairs 
    Email: Keith.powell@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8238
    Renata Dusenbury, Ph.D.
    Renata Dusenbury, Ph.D.
    Vice President for Academic Affairs 
    Email: rdusenbury@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8330
    Dr. Pamela Wilks Pamela Wilks, Ph.D.
    Interim Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs 
    Email: pamela.wilks@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8330
    Marilyn Baldwin Richards, AVPIA
    Marilyn Baldwin Richards, M.Div.
    Vice President for Institutional Advancement
    Email: marilyn.richards@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8529
    Anthony Brooks, MBA
    Anthony Brooks, MBA
    Chief Enrollment Management Officer
    Email: anthony.brooks@shawu.edu
    Phone: (919)719-1983
    Dr. Kandace Harris
    Kandace Harris, Ph.D.
    Special Assistant to the President/Board Trustee Liaison 
    Email: kharris@shawu.edu 
    Phone: (919)546-8334