Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field

University News


 Shaw Bears Athletics Logo 

Shaw Men and Women Tennis Teams Win CIAA Championships 

Men win 8th straight CIAA championship; Women capture 3rd championship in 4 years 

Teams receive academic award for highest GPA 

April 25, 2012 – The Shaw men's tennis team claimed it eighth straight CIAA Championship with a 5-0 win over Winston-Salem State in a match played on the tennis courts of Virginia State.

Both the number one and number three doubles teams won their matches 8-1.  In the one slot, Charles Silva and Juan Sanchez downed Chris Jeter and Creighton Jones, while number three doubles Artur Latypov and Andre Monti topped Drew Dunzweiler and Calvin Brooks.

In number two doubles, Daniel Vasquez and Gabriel Nicotra defeated Leandro Imaz and Nick John 8-4.

With the sweep in the doubles, Shaw needed victory in only two of the singles matches to win the best-of-nine contest.

Sanchez, in the number five slot, recorded a 6-0, 6-0 win over Dunzweiler, while Monti cemented the victory with a 6-0, 6-2 defeat of Brooks.

Latypov, the number one singles player, was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

One year ago, Shaw number one singles player Lolia Kienka watched as Winston-Salem State celebrated their 2011 women's tennis championship, Angry, she declared, "We will win it next year."

This year, Kienka and her teammates proved her right as they captured their third CIAA Women's Tennis Championship in four years by defeating defending champion Winston-Salem State 5-0 in a match played on the campus of Virginia State.

In addition, both the men's and women's tennis teams captured the Academic Award for having the highest team GPA in each sport. Head tennis coach Sunday Enitan was also named CIAA Women's Tennis Coach of the Year at the annual CIAA Spring Sports Award Ceremony.

Enitan led the Lady Bears to a 22-1 record overall, with their sole loss coming to Division I Charleston Southern.  Shaw finished the CIAA season with a perfect 16-0 mark.  Six of the Lady Bears were named to the All-CIAA team.